Jasper County, Georgia
126 West Greene Street,  Suite 18
Monticello, Georgia  31064

City of Monticello, Georgia
123 West Washington Street
Monticello, Georgia  31064

City of Shady Dale, Georgia
22574 Hwy. 83 North
Shady Dale, GA 31085
(706) 468-1510

Monticello-Jasper County Chamber of Commerce
119 West Washington Street
Monticello, Georgia  31064

Monticello Downtown Development Authority

The Monticello News
247 West Washington Street
Monticello, Georgia  31064


  • Population:  As of the census of 2000, there were 11,426 people, 4,175 households, and 3,122 families residing in the county. The population density was 31 people per square mile (12/km²). There were 4,806 housing units at an average density of 13 per square mile (5/km²).
  • Land Mass: According to the Census Bureau, Jasper County has 373 square miles.  373 square miles is land and 5.3 square miles is water.
  • Major Highways in Jasper County:  Jasper County’s highways provide excellent accessibility to local, state, regional, national and global markets – providing convenient transportation avenues for suppliers, consumers, and labor.   Jasper County has several major U.S./State Highways – State Route 11, State Route 16,  State Route 83, State Route 142, State Route 212, State Route 380
  • Interstate Access:  Interstate 20 and Interstate 16
  • Airport Access:  Hartsfield Jackson Atlanta International Airport – 48 Miles
  • Adjacent Counties:
    Morgan County – Northeast
    Putnam County – East
    Jones County – South
    Monroe County – Southwest
    Butts County – West
    Newton County – Northwest
  • Traffic Count:

Data USA Profile about Jasper County (2017 STATS) CLICK HERE

United States Census Bureau – Quick Facts CLICK HERE

JASPER COUNTY IS ENTREPRENEUR FRIENDLY This means that we are working toward making our community more business-friendly and that we and the Georgia Department of Economic Development connect you with the resources to thrive.  We believe that it is small business that makes a community grow.  We want to help you get a successful start or expand

Northeast Georgia Regional Development Commission

2018:  Bar graph of unemployment rates for the last 13 months (not seasonally adjusted). Includes Barrow, Clarke, Elbert, Greene, Jackson, Jasper, Madison, Morgan, Newton, Oconee, Oglethorpe, and Walton counties.